Dagobah™

Star Wars™ Customizahle Card Game”

Dagobah Locations — The sparse population and extreme remoteness of the planet Dagobah make
deployment to this system and its swampy landscape unusually difficult. The thick atmosphere makes
shuttling (and the use of transport cards) impossible. Thus, special deployment and movement

restrictions apply to all Dagobah locations:

* Characters, vehicles and starships may not deﬁloy to Dagobah unless specifically allowed by their game text
(e.g., Yoda and Son Of Skywalker) or another card (e.g., Encampment).

* Devices and weapons may not deploy directly to Dagobah (but may deploy on characters, vehicles and
starships already there, if applicable).

* Utinni effects may not deploy to (or target a card at) Dagobah unless specifically allowed by their game
text.

. Shuttligghrules and transport cards (e.g., Nabrun Leids and Elis Helrot) may not be used to move to or from
Dagohah.

Creatures and all effect types (except Utinni effects) may deploy directly to Dagobah locations, but they

must obey any relevant deployment restrictions. Interrupts play normally at Dagobah.

“So, how do | get my characters and vehicles to Dagobah?” Normally you will use a card that allows this

(such as You Will Go To The Dagobah System) or you will deploy your characters and vehicles elsewhere,

then move them to the Dagobah system aboard a starship that can land at a Dagobah site.

Sector Locations — Sectors are a new type of location card. There will be various kinds of sectors in

upcoming expansion sets, all of which will share the following features:

* Sectors are oriented vertically, like systems, and create additional locations where starships may deploy,
battle and move. However, sectors have no parsec number and thus cannot be used for hyperspeed
movement.

* Viehicles and characters may not deploy or move to a sector unless aboard a starship.

* Cards which affect starships at a system (e.g., Hyper Escape, Tallon Roll and Collision!) can also affect
starships at a sector.

Asteroid Field and Big One Sectors — These two new locations are both asteroid sectors.
Asteroid sectors deploy next to any planet system or another asteroid sector, as shown below.

The planet system card must be on table before any asteroid sector can deploy to that system. Asteroid
sectors may be inserted in any order, as long as you maintain the following pattern:

[ Asteroid Sectors |

planet | [Asteroid | JAsteroid| |Asteroid Bid 0
system | | Field || Field || Field | [*'9 "

At an asteroid sector, you may ‘react’ and make any applicable unlimited moves. However, unless otherwise
specified, the only regular moves allowed at an asteroid sector are the following three new regular moves:

* System to sector — A capital starship or starfighter may move from a system location to the sector next
to it (or vice versa) for 1 Force.

» Sector to sector — A capital starship may move from one sector to an adjacent sector for 1 Force. A
starfighter may move up to two Sectors at a time for 1 Force.

* Sector to site — A starfighter at a sector may land at and take off from a related site for 1 Force.

Asteroid sectors are ‘related’ to the planet system where they are deployed, but they are not considered
to be part of that planet. Thus, if the planet is “blown away,” the asteroid sectors remain on table.

Asteroid Rules - “You're not actually going into an asteroid field?!” “They'd be crazy to follow us,
wouldn’t they?”

Wherever “Asteroid Rules” are in effect, your starships are continually subject to being hit by asteroids.




During each of your control phases, for each such starship:

* Opponent draws one asteroid destiny.

« Add 1 to destiny for each additional sector at that system that has “Asteroid Rules” in effect.
« If total destiny > armor or maneuver, the starship is immediately lost.

« If the card drawn for asteroid destiny is itself an asteroid sector, the starship is immediately lost, no
matter how high its armor or maneuver.

Cave Rules — The Big One: Asteroid Cave or Space Slug Belly site is a special location which must deploy
next to a Big One sector, as shown below.

planet <><><> <><><> 000 <>
site system | |Asteroid| fAsteroid| |Asteroid| |Big One Ocae
Field || Field Field

Normally this location is an asteroid cave (planet site). However, when a Space Slug creature is present
at the related Big One sector, the location slides next to the Space Slug and becomes a space slug belly
(creature site). Cool, huh?

planet <><><> 000 <><><> 0
site system | |Asteroid| JAsteroid| |Asteroid| |Big One

Field || Field Field
0
Space OBeIIy
Slug

When this site is a belly, starfighters may not land or take off if the Space Slug’s mouth is ‘closed’ (as
defined by the Space Slug's game text). If the Space Slug is lost, all cards in the belly are also lost and
the site then slides next to the Big One, reverting to a cave. Whether the site is a cave or a belly, it is
always ‘related’ to the Big One.

The Executor - Darth Vader's massive flagship, the Super Star Destroyer Executor, is a unique starship
card. In addition to having all the capabilities of normal Star Destroyers, the Execttor has its own related
starship sites!

Vehicle and Starship Capacity — The capacity listed for a vehicle or starshif) card represents
the capacity of that card’s bridge (or cockpit) and cargo bay. Characters conceptually go “on the bridge”
(or “in the cockpit™). Vehicles and starships conceptually go “in the cargo bay.”

However, vehicle and starship sites create additional locations where characters, vehicles and starships
may go without counting against the capacity of the bridge, cockpit or cargo bay. These sites are
conceptually “below decks™ and have unlimited capacity.

ﬁ Starship Sites — A new type of site location. Starship sites obey location deployment rules
2% (e, interior/exterior sequence and insertion) and create locations aboard a starship where
characters may deploy, battle and move. For convenience, each group of starship sites is placed on the

table separately from other sites. However, the group is related to one particular starship (which must be

specified at the time of deployment).

Sites which are related to a particular starship (e.g., Executor sites) may deploy even if that starship is not
on table (just as Death Star sites may deploy when the Death Star is not on table). However, sites which
work with any starship of a given type (e.g., Star Destroyer: Launch Bay) may deploy only to a starship
card already on table.

Characters at a starship site are “aboard the starship” but not ‘present’ at the bridge. Although such
characters participate normally in battles at these sites, because they are below decks theP/ may not use
their game text to enhance the starship card and they may not participate in starship battles (may not
use power, ahility, game text or forfeit).

The player controlling the starship may move his cards from a starship site to the related starship card
(capacity permitting), or vice versa. This movement requires 1 Force per card and is a regular move.

If a starship is lost, all related sites (and cards located at those sites) are also lost.




New Deployment Restriction Symbol — Some cards have one or more diamond () symbols
in the card title. The number of diamonds indicates the number of copies that both players together can
have on table at any given system. (There is no limitation on the number of systems where such a card
may be used.) For example, the Asteroid Field card has three diamonds. Therefore, both players together
are limited to a total of three Asteroid Field locations at each planet system.

[ ) Yoda - “Notice you will, on m.r card, a new icon there is, yes. Jedi Master it means, and a Light
Side Force icon it includes. While on table am I, one extra Force may you activate”

¥ Jedi Training — A powerful new feature for the Light Side in this expansion set is the ability to
train characters in the Force using a new card type called Jedi test. Each time a character
completes a new Jedi test, the Light Side player gains a new capability that can have far-reaching
effects. Completing Jedi tests can also raise a character's ability. Attempting the Jedi tests in this
expansion set involves bringing an apprentice to a mentor on Dagobah and drawing training destiny.

Each Jedi test card describes how to begin, attempt and complete the test. There are also a few special
rules that apply to Jedi training:

* For every Dagobah site on table, you may add 1 to each training destiny draw.

» Jedi tests are attempted in numerical sequence. Each time an apprentice completes a Jedi test that is
numbered higher than his ability, that character's ability goes up to match the Jedi test number. For
example, completing test #4 raises the apprentice’s ability to 4.

« A mentor may train more than one apprentice at the same time, and an apprentice may change
mentors between Jedi tests, if necessary.

* An apprentice may not attempt a test that is already placed on that apprentice.

This expansion set includes Jedi tests #1 through #5. Jedi test #6 — You Must Confront Vader — will appear
in a future expansion set.

E Independent Starships — Anew group of starships which are “privately owned” and thus
= are neither Rebel nor Imperial. Cards that refer to “Rebel” or “Imperial” starships do nat apply to
independent starships.

E Selective Creatures — Many of the smaller, less ferocious creatures in the Star Wars universe
—==4 are selective in their eating habits and thus do not attack their own kind. Selective creatures will
attack characters or other species of creatures (those with a card title different from their own).
Hogvever, lfelective creatures with the same card title simply ignore each other for purposes of movement
and attack.

Attaching Creatures — Instead of making an attack as normal, some creatures (e.g., vine snakes
and mynocks) attach themselves to a host character or starfighter. When attached, a creature does not
attack anything or move on its own, but instead moves automatically with the host. Attaching creatures
may be attacked by other creatures and characters (and may be targeted by character weapons) even
when they are attached. If a host is ‘eaten’ (by any creature), all attached creatures immediately detach.
If a host Is lost by other means, attached creatures are lost with the host.

Ving Snakes — These creatures attach themselves to a character, gradually squeezing the life out of their
victim. Vine snakes remain attached to their host even if the host moves out of the creature’s habitat.
However, if a vine snake detaches outside of its habitat, it is immediately lost.

Mynacks — In addition to attackin? normally, these creatures can attach themselves to a starfighter and
chew on the power cables (‘meals’), draining power and reducing hyperspeed. (If they detach, power and
hyperspeed are immediately restored.) Like other creatures, mynocks may move from site to site, but
they may also move like a starfighter (e.g., landing, taking off and flying to and from sectors). Because
mynocks have no hyperspeed, to move from system to system they must ‘hitchhike’ on a starfighter.
Although mynocks may not be targeted by starship weapons, you can land your starfighter and clean them
off with character weapons.

Landing Claw - A starfighter equipped with a Landing Claw may attach itself to an opponent’s
capitﬁ! stars(?ip. To indicate that your starfighter is attached, place it across the table on the capital
starship card.

Attached starfighters are ‘concealed,’ and thus do not participate in battles and may not he targeted by
either player in any way (weapons, interrupts, Utinni effects, asteroid destiny etc.g. Also, neither player
may deploy cards on such a starfighter. An attached starfighter is treated as if it has no presence, but it
still blocks your opponent’s Force drains.

An attached starfighter automatically moves with the capital starship; it may not move on its own, nor



may it be used to shuttle or transfer other cards. If the capital starship is lost, the attached starfighter is
also lost.

TIE Bombers — In addition to participating in starship battles, TIE Bombers may be used in
conjunction with Proton Bombs and/or the Bombing Run mobile effect card to hombard related
planet sites.

Proton Bombs — Proton Bombs deploy on your bomber. They represent a full complement of firepower
which can be used repeatedly in one of two different “bombing modes” depending on the type of site
heing targeted:

* Interior sites — You may perform “orbital bombardment” in an attempt to ‘collapse’ a related interior site.
Because the hombs are dropped from orhit, the TIE Bomber does not move from
the system.

» Non-interior sites — You may perform “carpet bombing” in an attempt to destroy characters, vehicles and
starships at a related non-interior site. To accomplish this, the TIE Bomber briefly swoops down to the
site by using the Bombing Run card.

Bombing Run — This mobile effect card deploys on a non-interior Site and represents the target zone for
your bombers at the related system. You may change the target zone (at the start of each of your move
phases) by moving the mobile effect to an adjacent site. When your bombers move to the target zone,
they have presence at the site (e.g., they may block opponent’s Force drains) and they may participate in
hattles there, even if they do not carry Proton Bombs.

When a TIE Bomber begins a Bombing Run by moving to a site, this is a regular move which requires 1
Force. The return trip to the system is a second regular move which also requires 1 Force.

Orbital Mines - In a future expansion set, TIE Bombers will be able to deploy and defuse

Orbital Mines.

“Card Type” — Whenever game text on a card uses the specific phrase “card type” (e.g., Hiding In
The Garbage), such references refer to the icons used in the upper left-hand corners of the cards. Sites,
systems and sectors, which have no upper left-hand icon, share the card type of “location”

Where’s Boba Fett? — Most of the bounty hunters (and their starships and weapons) seen in The
Empire Strikes Back appear in this expansion set. Boba Fett makes his debut in the Star Wars™ Customizable
Card Game™ First Anthology™ as a white-border preview card of the black-border version coming in the
Special Edition expansion set.

What’s Next? The Cloud City Expansion Set - As a young apprentice trains on Dagobah, he
is struck with a sudden vision: “I saw a city in the clouds...”



